Borax Free Dishwasher Detergent

Many recipes for natural cleaning involve Borax. Now, I’m not saying it’s safe or unsafe, but I’ve read several articles from both sides and decided to discontinue it in my everyday cleaning recipes. The fact that it’s not recommended for food use meant that I didn’t feel great about using it to clean the dishes we use to cook and eat. The good news is, you can get your dishes just as clean as easily with other natural ingredients! Here’s a recipe that works great even with my hard water.

 
1/2 Cup citric acid

1 1/2 Cup washing soda

1/2 Cup baking soda

1/2 Cup coarse sea salt or Epsom salts
Mix together in a container and use 1 tablespoon per load. You can also add a tablespoon of white vinegar in the rinse aid department if you’re washing a lot of glass and want them sparkling. 
Most of these ingredients are available in bulk bins, which means you can make this entirely zero waste and packaging free! I’m still sourcing where I could find washing soda in bulk, but for now the box is made from 100% recycled cardboard that I can recycle again. Wins all around!

Leave a comment